The Lagos State University – also known as LASU – was established in 1983 by the enabling Law of Lagos State of Nigeria, for the advancement of learning and establishment of academic excellence. The university caters for a population of over 61,000, enrolled in full-time and part-time programmes at the Diploma, Undergraduate and Postgraduate. Lagos State University (informally LASU), located in the city of Ojo, Lagos, Nigeria, is the only state university in the former British colony.

Lagos State University offers diploma, degree and post graduate programmes and its MBA programme is reputed to be one of the highly revered in the country. The citadel is also known for various staff union agitations especially the Lecturers’ ASUU,non teching staff’s SSANU,NASU and others while various unrest has been witnessed with the activities of the students union informally called LASUSU also known as the Lagos State University Student Union. The state university which is known as the best state owned university in Nigeria also boost of a robust academic staff which include highly respected faculty of professors.